Throw out Blow out

If you throw it out, you have blown it!

A million ideas rolling through your head. You write them down, but none of them seem to make sense. No matter how hard you try you can’t get a solid idea. Pretty soon you end up looking like this guy.writers-block[1]

For many of us writers we have trouble surpassing writers block (go to my post “Writers Block and how to handle it” for help), but for many more of us we struggle to hang onto our old ideas.

All of the crumpled up notes you have tossed in the garbage, or burnt in a fitful rage could have eventually helped you one day. Here are a few reasons why you should keep almost everything you write.

Ideas-

If you throw out an idea, no matter how bad you might think it is for your project, it might end up helping you later in the future. For me it helps with the novel writing. Books are long and the more ideas I have, no matter how scatter brained they may be, really helps me build my story.

Sentences-

Sometimes we may hate the way a paragraph turned out, but no matter how badly you want to discard it– Don’t. Look back at this another day, because you may find one beautiful sentence or even a few words that you can use in another piece of your writing.

 

At first when I was writing there were boxes and boxes of random folded up notes with titles like “Powers” or “Green” standing for the name of the book I was working on. I found that even though half of those book ideas I have thrown down the drain, the concept of the little things in them have not. I have used these little details in a completely different book and have become very useful.

I now keep all of my book ideas within a few notebooks. Keeping them in one place is easier and when they are side by side instead of scattered within a box I can find the one idea faster.

I hope this inspires you to keep all of your writing, and if you want to share let me know where you keep yours.

A. Willow

One thought on “Throw out Blow out

  1. Fantastic post! I have about a billion stories started that have never gone anywhere. Sometimes I just get paragraphs and sentences stuck in my head and I feel like I have to write them down… Don’t think writings for me though unfortunately! Great Tips though for any kind of writing I think ! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

What are your Thoughts?

