Moral Message: Is it Necessary?

Hello Everyone,

For me in a story everything has to have an outcome. Now that doesn’t mean it has resolution, but that the story gave you a certain moral or idea that you will possibly take with you for the rest of your life. Reading books is learning, and that means that every word you put on a page you are sending a message. This message on your blog could be “I hate my job” or it could be, “Cats are the best pets in the world”, but with books it might be slightly more difficult. They can send mixed messages and be contradictory at times,for example its like after reading the Grapes of Wrath where you learn that your life isn’t actually as stressful as you once thought, but you could also get from it that people will do really weird and somewhat horrific things in desperate times (if you’ve read the ending, or heard about it then you know the exact  part I am talking about).

So I’m here to tell you that I zone in on certain aspects of books, and in my own writings I try to really emphasize between light and dark.  At the beginning, stories tend to capture my attention by action, romance, or simply new ideas, but its the author’s message that will have me either stop or continue.

images

Stories about ending the world and how humans are hopeless, now it’s those authors I cannot stand. All the author does is tell his/her readers that they don’t have any hope of improving and they should only look forward to going downhill.
Well excuse me if I am interrupting anyone’s fantasy bubble, but humans need growth in order to live. We can’t just sit on the couch playing Left for Dead five hours in a row and use the excuse, “Zombies are going to take over the world, so why should I try?”

That is ridiculous! Sure, whatever, play the games, I couldn’t care less. But its the attitude that goes with it. We see it in the media, TV, Movies, Magazines, and even on the radio that we humans are worthless and shouldn’t continue to try.

What have we as a society come to?

My solution to everything is this: We have to stop spreading around garbage and negative energy and start helping each other. We need to work together through our words and helping hands. That is why writing is so important. It’s because it gives future generations hope to look for a brighter future,and that darkness will not swallow us up as long as we keep trying and are working together.

So yes, when I read the hunger games, I really fell in love with it. Until the second book came out and it was likeable, but as soon as I finished the third book I got MAD! With all the fans, and how many people the author reached out to, THAT WAS HER ENDING!?! Her message was horrible, and to basically give up on civilization as we know it!

katniss-unleashes-her-arrow-mtv-vmas

How could someone with such power, downgrade the human worth and tell everyone that there is no hope for humanity?

I apologize because I know how many people loved it, but I can’t stand that we are limiting ourselves to such a low standard.

When you write, make sure you know what message you are sending out to everyone. That is my advice to you, because if you create a book just because you thought it would be a cool idea, well think again. Your sons, daughters, cousins, nieces, nephews, grandchildren and so forth are going to read this and what type of message do you want to be sending out to them? It doesn’t have to be filled with rainbows and ponies, but at least try to make it worth the lesson.

Do we really want to be telling our children, “Oh don’t worry about going to school today, we humans are worthless anyways.”

So yes, I do judge a book by its message, and I can’t stand that when someone has power that they waste it on negativity. So if you want to write out to the world, please, I am begging you, to think twice before you send your manuscript.

If you would like to tell me what you are thinking feel free to comment.  I would love to hear about anything: what your morals are, why you look for a message in books or don’t, what is your favorite book that has a message etc.

-A. Willow-

One thought on “Moral Message: Is it Necessary?

  1. […] Moral Message: Is it Necessary? (a0willow.wordpress.com) […]

What are your Thoughts?

