NaNoWriMo: No More Excuses!

I know how your feeling at this moment when people mention National November Writers Month (NaNoWriMo). You were at first all in about a month ago, but now, a few days into November, you don’t know where to start.  This is what happened to me for the past two years and I get stressed, and upset that I haven’t started, so I put up a block and don’t start at all. crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafb

Being a writer means that you have to get used to setting goals for yourself. This month is just a national set up to help all of us writers stay on track. I find it to be a very strong community, and once November hits there is so much help on thousands of blogs that you can’t say you didn’t know how.

This October I visited a site that made me think of something. All my life as a writer I have only accomplished to finish one book. although there have been many close reads, and many ideas for stories, all I am left with is a jumbled mess of unfinished stories. So I thought that if someone can finish a manuscript in less than a month then why can’t I finish what I’ve already started?

Writing is hard because goals are a necessity. We brush it off saying “Yeah, I don’t have time to write today”, but when you do that you are limiting your time to finish anything. The less time you spend to write, the more likely you will NOT be successful for your career as a writer. Sure, there are a few wild exceptions, but those lucky few were only lucky or had a REALLY good platform.

Most of us aren’t so lucky, and we must work to achieve our goals. So I want every aspiring writer to take out their keyboard, pen, or pencil and write until your arm feels like its going to fall off. We have to celebrate this month for the respect of our writing community as well as for the respect you have for yourself.

So when you have friends nagging at you to come out, and no matter how tempting it is to sneak off into the night use this excuse,  “I have a goal set for myself that I respect, and NaNoWriMo isn’t going to wait around for me. ”

Say this to yourself while your in the shower, at work, playing a board game, and as soon as you get free time you need to write write write. There is no waiting around for this, because soon it will be the end of November and the outcome is either you have a full manuscript or you don’t.

Thanks for reading and I hope you find the inspiration to keep writing away.

A. Willow

(Feel free to leave comments, questions, or concerns down below and I would be happy to get back to you.)

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: No More Excuses!

  1. […] NaNoWriMo: No More Excuses! (a0willow.wordpress.com) […]

What are your Thoughts?

